Plug-ins : unwanted



  • In 'Settings'-> 'About' -> 'licences'
    I found that there are several 'licences' I would not expect to see on my UBports/UT device, I certainly would not install them myself or any app requiring it.

    For example the Facebook plug-in, see screenshot.
    screenshot20201006_084622547.png
    How to remove this plug-in from my device safely?
    It's hard to tell which plug-in is which due to the filenames, I would like to know which plug-ins would be unwanted when my goal is to minimize the risk of tracking my device and minimize third parties from collecting data/showing ads. Is there something like a 'blacklist' option for blocking unwanted plug-ins?



  • @3T_Ed said in Plug-ins : unwanted:

    I found that there are several 'licences' I would not expect to see

    GPL-V2 is a license you don't expect ???
    The plugin is used to log people into their Facebook account. If you don't use it, Facebook won't have any information.
    The plugin was made by Canonical and is open source what more do you want ?

    @3T_Ed said in Plug-ins : unwanted:

    minimize the risk of tracking my device and minimize third parties from collecting data/showing ads

    If you use uAdBlock there are blacklists with social networks so any unwanted communication with their services will be blocked.

    What you're asking is stripping down UT to keep only the features YOU use. You can do this by building your own OS from the sources. But I don't think anyone will find time to customize UT to enable and disable every feature embeded.
    Such customization would be a nightmare for users with too many options...



  • @AppLee
    Yes I would expect that license. Your clarification that if I don't use FB it won't be used suffice. Not looking for a stripped down version of UT, I would like to remove those particular plug-ins that I don't want to use, but that would probably compromise the complete UT on my phone. As for UadBlock, all boxes are ticked. Please consider this closed.



  • @3T_Ed
    I'm glad all that was needed was some clarification.

    Yes I guess removing the plugins is not preferable ; a hack is possible but you would have to apply it again after each update.